‘Bad’ food and exercise

Junk food and fitcamps

I have only been on slimming world for just over a week but something has happened that’s never happened before, I’m properly ‘tasting’ foods. The funny thing is I’ve realised how bad many junk foods taste. I have had the ‘wobble’ I wrote about at work the other day, the ‘treat’ after weigh day (don’t go shopping hungry on weigh day!), and today I had a post-work out cookie. The wobble food I didn’t really notice, however, the weigh day ‘treat’ I had an ice cream which was nice, some chicken dippers which just tasted greasy, and some chocolate buttons which I was sick of after a few. Today then I decided to have a cookie from M&S as I’d had basically no syns all day, and it tasted of sugar. Before I would have eaten these foods so fast I don’t think I’d have even noticed. Now I’ve been eating ‘proper’ food for a week I can taste what they’re really like and I’ll be honest it isn’t great! Will I learn my lesson? I hope so. I hope that I’ll learn and remember that I don’t actually enjoy these things anymore but I expect I’ll still have slip-ups. I’ll still decide to ‘treat’ myself and then realise it just really wasn’t worth it.

On a slightly different note I’m still amazing myself at the fitcamps. Having not exercised properly in a while, and considering just a few weeks ago I was out of breath going up the stairs, I am managing to keep with, and in some cases even do better than, people who have been going longer than me. I don’t have the best stamina, which is something I’m going to have to work on, but I have good strength. Last week I was using heavier weights than the guy in the class, and today I was doing just as well, if not better, on some of the lifting exercises. It’s really boosted my confidence and I can’t wait to see how far I come in this 6 week biggest loser challenge. Plus I’ve managed to win a free personal training session where I’m sure I’ll be worked even harder! But I can’t wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

